WSOP Results Year by Year – Legendary Poker Champs


Has anyone won the WSOP Main Event twice?

During the WSOP’s 51-year history, five players have won the WSOP Main Event more than once.

  • Phil Hellmuth won the tournament in 1989 and 2012.
  • Doyle Brunson won the tournament in 1976 and 1977.
  • Johnny Chan won the tournament in 1987 and 1988.
  • Johnny Moss won the tournament in 1970, 1971, and 1974.
  • Stu Ungar won the tournament in 1980, 1981, and 1997.

Who has won the most Main Events?

Two people who have won the WSOP Main Event three times. Their names are Johnny Moss and Stu Ungar.

Johnny Moss won in 1970, 1971, and 1974. His total Main Event winnings were $190,000. Moss left a trailblazing legacy in the world of poker.

Stu Ungar may be the greatest of all Main Event champions. The Main Event winner in 1980, 1981, and 1997, Ungar is the only person to win three times in the freeze-out format. Ungar accumulated total winnings of $1.76 million. Unfortunately, the poker star struggled with addiction all his life and died alone and flat broke in a hotel room, just a year after his $1 million 1997 win. He will always be remembered as one of the greatest poker players of all time.

Who is the most successful poker player of all time?

The answer depends on your point of view. Some may say that Johnny Moss and Stu Ungar were the most successful because they each won three Main Events. Others name Phil Hellmuth, whose WSOP results show 15 bracelets from winning the highest number of tournaments. Phil Ivey and Sam Farah are contenders too, because they have accumulated the most prize money – more than $100 million in poker earnings.